Every year we thrive to recognise those who have contributed their time and efforts into the improvement of our local community. We would like to thank everyone who submitted nominations. Here are the finalists of the 2017 Herts Advertiser Community Awards:


Role Model of the Year

Sponsored by Rayner Essex

Phoebe Shergold-Willis

PC Carl Callan

Jillian Haslam

Mark Spritzer


Parent in a Million

Chris Skrabski

Loubna El Mansouri


Great and Green

STAGS Eco Council

STAGS Challenge Water Champions

Sustainable St Albans Week Working Group

JPA Furniture


Young Achiever

Aysha Saifullah

Eleanor Bull

Ayala Brookes

Elise Peacock and Holly Wilmer


Valiant Volunteer

Rosaria Borgeat & Alison Evans

Lynda Graham

Claire Cripps

Shirley Galsworthy


Carer of the Year

Sponsored by B & M Care

Young Carers at STAGS

Lilian Ahmed

Gillian Winkworth and Ben Bream

Tori Hyde


Lifetime Achievement

Sponsored by Cleveland Scott York

Sandy Adams

Shirley Galsworthy

Mary Newman

Norman Davies


Service to the Community

Sponsored by St Albans District Chamber

Julie Morrey

Shirley Galsworthy

Andrew Salamone

Callum Drysdale


Good Neighbour

Victoria Wright

Paul Hargreaves

Sheila Hiscott


Nurse / Care Worker of the Year

Sponsored by Spire Harpenden

Mandy Cronin

Laura Catterall


Charity Champions

Sponsored by JPA Furniture

Ken Campbell and Richard Gibbs

Charlie Moorhouse and Friends

The Counselling Foundation

STAGS Rotary Interact Group


The Maltings Community Hero

Sponsored by The Maltings

Jon Thorne

Team Ellie

Sue Davey

Christie Woods and Salvation Army

Grace Collins

Dave and Caroline Beale